Thursday, August 18, 2022

Sports Minister dissolves Sports Federations

The Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, has announced the dissolution of the boards of 31 National Olympic Sports Federations, with effect from Friday, April 30, 2021.

The minister, via a press statement, explained that the move is in line with the Olympic Charter, which stipulates a four-year tenure for all Sports Federations Boards.

“The tenure of the National Olympic Sports Federations in Nigeria have come to an end. There is a need for a transition from the old Boards to the new ones,” the statement read in part. 

The minister noted that a few of the National Sports Federations Boards performed remarkably well within the last four years while many others have been bogged down by unnecessary bickerings and divisions among the board members.

“Having run a full Olympic cycle, the Boards of the NSFs inaugurated on 21 June 2017 are hereby dissolved to pave way for fresh elections,” the Minister affirmed in Friday’s statement.

He continued: “I wish to thank all the Board members for their contributions within the period they served in their various Federations Boards.

“In order to ensure continuity in the administration of the Federations, Caretaker Committees are hereby put in place to manage the affairs of the Federations until elections are conducted and the new Boards inaugurated.” 

Mindful of the Olympic Games in July 2021, the Caretaker Committees will work assiduously towards enhancing Team Nigeria’s participation at the Games. The ministry, in partnership with the NOC, will release in due course, the timetable for the elections into National Sports Federation Boards.

In order to ensure transparency and accountability in the electoral process, the ministry requested all National Sports Federations to submit their Constitutions.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: