Sunday, June 26, 2022

Aiteo Cup Final : Nasarawa United, Bayelsa United Chase First Title

Nasarawa United will look to win the Aiteo Cup for the first time when they face Bayelsa United in the final at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium Benin City on Sunday, reports

Nigeria Professional Football League outfit Nasarawa United are yet to win a trophy since the club’s formation 18 years ago.

Experience and exposure to continental football at the level of CAF
Confederation Cup a few years ago was sweet, so the Solid Miners have
been looking for another opportunity.

Victory on Sunday will restore
them to the continent, and they bank on the marksmanship of Silas
Nwankwo (who emerged top scorer in this year’s Nigeria Professional
Football League with 19 goals) and the dead ball wizardry of Chigozie
Obasi to puncture the ambitions of Bayelsa United.

Second-tier Bayelsa United, who have had an amazing run in this year’s
campaign, upending NPFL teams Rangers International of Enugu, Lobi
Stars of Makurdi and Rivers United of Port Harcourt, are hoping to
become the first team from Nigeria’s second-tier to win the Cup in 20

The last team to achieve that were Port Harcourt boys, Dolphins
FC who bumped El-Kanemi Warriors 2-0 in 2001.

In their arsenal, they have an efficient goalkeeper in John Shaibu,
and can also count on the grit, guts and gumption of former Flying
Eagles’ star Bernard Okorowanta, Inikurogha Okardi, Tarabina Biweribo,
Endurance Ededibiri and Gabriel Biriduba when the going gets tough in Benin City

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles

%d bloggers like this: